Skip to content

Rise to the Occasion

November 6, 2013

And a glorious Hump Day to you all. I can’t speak for everyone, BUT WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON WITH THIS WEEK!?!!

I think the near-holiday chaos combined with crazy project deadlines has driven everyone nuts. I know for me, I am knees deep in a project that I knew very little about beginning of September and now I’m required to be an expert in the area. Frightening stuff.

I acknowledge the holidays for what they are: airport frenzy with a dash of family time combined with doing 422,290 activities too many all while trying to avoid destroying your year’s hard work on a gallon of ice cream dumped on top of pumpkin pie. And that’s just the day before Thanksgiving…

It’s never restful, although it is rarely burdensome. There’s just something about the holidays that feels special. Perhaps it’s digging through ancient photos of you before you weren’t fat, or maybe it’s just enjoying the annual traditions that so often accompany many families. Nevertheless, it’s a perfect time to reflect and enjoy time with the people you love.

2013 has been an interesting year for the Aaron’s, and I won’t address the other members experiences, but mine have been ridiculous. However, in all aspects, my huge takeaway from the year is this: always rise to the occasion. Always.

I surround myself with a wide variety of people, many of whom I share many common interests, and others who we simply share a love for tasty food. Regardless of one’s background, I’ve seen a pattern throughout the year of people being presented with two options. Rise to the occasion or don’t. For me, it seems to be a clear choice, but it usually isn’t so. I find that more and more people tend to just hang out, letting the world pass them by instead of seizing opportunities, no matter how frightening or scary, and running with it. I get it, some opportunities are less than thrilling, and others cause people to be like WHAT THE HECK ARE YOU DOING?! I will point out, however, that the opportunities that typically land on your doorstep usually yield great results at some point in your life. They may just not be revealed per your timeline.

The patterns in my life that have shown themselves since I began my MBA in 2011 also revolve around similar themes:

  • Change can suck, but only temporarily.
  • Keep on trucking no matter what life tosses at you.
  • Don’t underestimate yourself or your abilities.
  • You are the only one with the power to follow the paths in your life.
  • You can’t sit around waiting for someone else to fix something in your life that you aren’t happy with. Just do it!
  • The “goods” aren’t as great nor as the “bads” as terrible as you may think.
  • You almost always have no idea what is actually best for you, despite your beliefs to the contrary.
  • Don’t make excuses; make things happen

image

As 2014 creeps up on us ever so stealthily, I find myself preparing for next year, despite the fact that I will leave with 90% of my expectations severely off base. I like to act like my plans will work themselves out. Who doesn’t like to pretend they’re in control? But let’s be real, it just doesn’t happen that way. Granted, I got my MBA and smashed my first Ironman, but other than that, the year was full of things I didn’t expect or anticipate. And off we go with another set of 52 weeks waiting to be filled!

My encouragement is that everyone should rise to the occasions presented before them. The small hills and the massive mountains each need to be tackled in their own rite, and each experience contributes more than one typically attributes to them. I have found that experience isn’t something you gather or harvest, but is rather the nature and behavior that you exemplify when confronted with challenges you would deem impossible. How you react to daunting situations develops your character, which coincidentally, sticks with you forever. Happy challenge hunting!

From → Stressful Things

One Comment
  1. Steven Shi permalink

    Come on, my dear friend and boss, I always believe in your special talents, you are an idol with heroic image to me, and that’s not enough, because I know you will get over all these troubles for sure. Also, you will be a better and better man!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,520 other followers

