Three Steps to Being a Great Content Curator

And here I am again, creating content for the all-powerful Interwebs to reach my audience of 58 readers. I hope that WordPress doesn’t count myself revisiting my blog as a visitor… :-|

In the last few weeks, I have gone from having minimal presence on the Internet to having two results in the Google Top 8, as well as creating accounts in Twitter, Diigo, Slideshare, and finding great blogs to connect with through RSS. I must admit that not only am I pleasantly surprised with the results, but I am actually enjoying creating, sharing, and reading content! So I figured that I would share the highlights of what I have learned in my Social Media class so far, since it has definitely brought a new perspective to the collection and creation of information. Although I’m new at it, these are the “best practices” that I’ve noted throughout the postings I’ve read so far.

Without further ado…

  1. Be constantly aware – Your experiences throughout the day may provide you with content. I don’t know how many times I have been reading an article, skimming a book, or cooking dinner and all of a sudden the light goes off and I know what I want to blog about. Personally, I have found that real-life experiences provide the best blog content, and great ideas come to me when I least expect them.
  2. Read other people’s content – This is one of the best ways to get inspiration for your blog. Scour your social media feeds, news articles, and other blogs to see what people are talking about. You never know when you may stumble across 3 different articles discussing the FBI’s request for security tools, and voila! you have a topic for a blog. I especially recommend reading professional blogs with tens of thousands of followers. They must be doing something right if they have that many people consuming their content…
  3. Write, write, write! – By far, the greatest way to get better at creating  remarkable content is to PRACTICE (shocker: that’s what our parents have been telling us for years!) Although I was hesitant at first, I would say that I have now jumped in with both feet and have already begun reaping the rewards, however small. Really, the worst thing that could happen is that someone may leave a negative comment, but then again, maybe your article wasn’t really up to par. Create your content and get it out there! You can only get better with time.

What do you think the hardest part of generating remarkable content is?

10 Comments

  1. I would think that the hardest part of generating content is having a certain amount of credibility to what you’re talking about. Anyone can blog about random thoughts and ideas, but it takes more time and effort to actually compare (or contrast) something you’re blogging to various points of view. A close second to generating content is recognition just because the internet is such a big place where it’s easy to have a small time blog overlooked.

  2. It’s all about the execution. At the heart of http://www.BeyondTransition.com is a really simple content idea. Let’s tell people about all the triathlons out there. It’s not give them a list or a directory, it’s tell them in detail about the event. A year later and we’re getting there but there are so many things that you have to do along the way to make it work.

    I think that valuable content is unique or almost so. I saw an article by Boing Boing’s Cory Doctorow the other day about how generally he finds out about the good stuff because it comes to him through multiple sources. How many secnd rate and recycled bits of content will be repeated like that?

    The other real important thing is that it is different. I read maybe 400+ blogs which results in about 300+ posts a day. Most don’t say much that is different or interesting from most of the others. Occasionally there is a little gem – which is why I read (quickly) them all. So for a content creator it’s how to work out how to make your content regularly different.

    And those are big challenges.

    Enjoy :)

  3. Great post, especially for those blogging ‘rookies’ as myself! You are right, in my experience so far it’s best when you keep it simple and always have an open mind. Then it all comes naturally!

Leave a Reply

