What Happens When You Aren’t Remarkable??

So here we are on a beautiful Friday afternoon in Reno, NV. The sun is shining, not a cloud in the sky, and yet I am feeling less than remarkable. Yes, the GMAT didn’t go according to plan and I kind of feel like it ruined my week. All the way back to work I was thinking to myself that we are always drilled about being remarkable, extraordinary, stellar, and so on but felt that we aren’t really prepared or accepting of when we just feel “OK.” Of course it’s silly to let some $250 test that doesn’t even ask me practical business questions to rain on my parade, but it’s how we deal with these feelings that makes us as a person.

So in preparing my thoughts for a blog today, I came up with a list of things I’m going to do to get over this crazy week and move on.

  1. Celebrate the successes. Primary elections went off wonderfully and we increased voter participation by almost 200%. Now THAT’s something to get excited about.
  2. Go for a run. I’m looking for a nice 12 mile jaunt through Reno on this beautiful day to get out and relax.
  3. Hang out with friends and do something relaxing like pool, bowling, or a movie.
  4. Sit down and plan out my week in advance so I’m prepared for whatever challenges may come.

I feel that it’s ironic that this week there have been many blogs about stress and time management and so I think I will take some of my own advice and deal with my stress the way I know how.

Originally, I had selected the picture below because in a group none of the zebras really strike me as remarkable, however, now that I’m over my pessimism it’s incredible how remarkable each of them really is! So enjoy the pic. What do you do when you don’t feel remarkable??

12 Comments

  1. Russell,

    I think that by recognizing you have faced a challenge and purposely seeking the positive to focus on make you REMARKABLE!!! Very few of us realize that every defeat or difficult situation is an opportunity to learn and grow. In doing so you have set yourself up for success. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Leslie

  2. This reminded my of a quote out of fight club.

    You are not a beautiful and unique snowflake. You are the same decaying organic matter as everyone else, and we are all part of the same compost pile.

    Hope you have a better week next week man. Just remember that for our age we are very successful and we have a long life ahead of us to shape our lives. =D

  3. Russell, I totally understand where you are right now. I had the unfortunate privilege of taking the GMAT 3x before finally passing. The test is miserable but it doesn’t define you. BTW can I be the zebra on the left? It looks a lot like me :)

Leave a Reply

