Empowerment to Catch the Elusive Checkered Flag

Good morning again from fabulous Reno!

Coming back from spring break has not been particularly easy for me, even though my “break” consisted of working a normal schedule and battling a pretty sweet cold. However, the glorious-ness of not having class is sorely missed. Sitting in class last night was a struggle for me and reminded me of senioritis back in high school when I lacked motivation to do anything. As all good blog topics go, it seemed a perfect prompt for a topic to share with my reader base (the few and the proud)!

Heading down the home stretch of the semester, battling the desire to procrastinate, reminded me of an experience I have had in every single triathlon I’ve ever competed in. Even though I am a very strong swimmer and decent cyclist, I find the run to be something of a loathsome experience getting between me and the finish line. Every time I race, the same thoughts go through my mind after nearly 90 minutes of going all-out on the course. Why am I out here in the first place when I really don’t enjoy running and why isn’t the race over yet?! And as usual, I have to find the motivation to press on and cross the finish line (in one piece ideally). After surviving 8 weeks of grad school, it is the same situation. Despite not wanting to do anything productive, I need to gather my motivation and finish off strong!

So, here’s a few points for finding persistence, drive, and motivation to finish strong whatever tasks you may find slightly less than fun.

  1. Keep the end in mind: whether it’s advancing to the next graduate courses, setting a personal best in the Santa Cruz triathlon, or simply doing a wonderful job on your project, you have to always keep in mind the purpose of what you are doing. Without purpose, you will have no motivation. Guaranteed.
  2. Appreciate your hard work up to that point: 1 mile of swimming in the chilly San Francisco Bay followed by 25 miles of hills should be enough motivation for anyone to run a measly 6.2 miles. Take time to appreciate all of the hard work you have invested into your work project, schooling, etc. You need to be proud of what you have done and realize that crossing the finish line is just another achievement you are quite capable of reaching.
  3. Think about the future: keep in mind the reason for which you started something in the first place. Perhaps you’re training for an Ironman 70.3, trying to climb the corporate ladder, or just working on self-improvement. Once you “cross the finish line” for your particular item, you will be empowered and capable of setting new, tougher goals for yourself and will feel like a million dollars [unless you wreck your bike in the process :-) ].

What keeps you going? When do you feel the greatest sense of fulfillment of empowerment?


Picture credit

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

