The Business Card…Going the Way of the Dinos

In a fantastic blog post by Susy Jackson, The Business Card Is Dead, Long Live the Business Card, she describes the paradigm shift in regards to business cards and how we prefer to share our contact information with people we may do business with. Interestingly, I could completely relate to the excitement of having a job that provides you with business cards! For the first time in my life, I had a piece of paper that said “I’m a professional and I matter to this company.”

I was able to utilize this neat marketing tool when traveling to Portland for the NASPA conference, and got a chance to meet all kinds of wonderful grad students and faculty. And for the first time, I was able to say here’s my card! I think there is definitely a positive feeling associated with being able to present your professional credentials to colleagues by paper, however, the business card seems to be decreasing in popularity with the advent of social media.

When exchanging information, I want to get the person’s business card to get access to their email and phone number. After that, I really have no use for their card any longer. I have noticed that I am more likely to contact colleagues who’s business cards I have received then if I simply scribbled down their email address.

How do you prefer to exchange contact information? Would you rather just get the person’s number and text or call them, or do you like receiving a hard copy?


5 Comments

  1. I like getting a business card, especially if I’m having a conversation with the person. A card is a great spot to jot notes or follow-ups, especially if you’re meeting a lot of people and have to move quickly to the next person. Often there is useful information on the card that the person isn’t going to convey in a text or phone call or face-to-face conversation (specific title, or a company division, or alternate address/phone, etc.). I glean every bit of info I can from a card for my contact management system before I discard it.

  2. I definitely agree that it’s nice getting a “hard copy” of someone’s info (especially if you want to jot notes). I still keep a pile of business cards on my desk even after I’ve gotten all of the information off of them that I want.

  3. I think business cards that have a photo of the person on it is the best because after meeting several new people and receiving a lot of business cards, the photo helps me remember them and what we discussed. I think asking for their LinkedIn Account or Twitter account and quickly adding them to your list on your phone, for example, is just as good, if not easier than receiving a business card in person. Great Post Aaron, sure interesting to see how times are changing through technology. :)

  4. Hey Lisa, great thoughts. Do you have a photo on your card? That is a phenomenal idea, especially so people don’t forget you. I also agree that connecting on LinkedIn is a quick and easy way to connect.

Leave a Reply

