Terrible Customer Service is a Crippling Blow for Companies

Greetings from Reno,

This is a very unusual post for me in that it is hardly positive… for the record, Sage [the company behind Act!], I HATE INTERACTING WITH YOUR COMPANY!!! You have wasted so much of my time it is sickening, and frankly, I’m appalled that you even call it “customer service.”

I like to consider myself a relatively patient person, especially in the arena of setting up and testing new hardware and software; however, my interactions with Sage and Act! customer support have left me desiring more… more “actual” help instead of bullsh!$ given to me in the form of question scripts and more time being placed on hold, and, my favorite, less time spent getting hung up on!! Are you freaking kidding me?! What kind of customer service is that… when that happens it comes across as:

“I’m sorry sir, I don’t know the answer *click* ” – well, I see how it is then!

So, here’s a list of my complaints against what I consider to be a rather large company that should have it’s “act” together (hahahhaa, I love my puns)

  1. Get it together – I have certain expectations when I purchase a piece of software, such as receiving the correct serial number! I understand if you need 2-3 days to get me a serial number, but 2 weeks is completely unacceptable! On top of that, I shouldn’t have to call you to track down my number, let alone spend more than 30 seconds convincing you I’m your customer. Yes, I have my order number, yes, I have my customer number, and yes, I’m with the University! I shouldn’t be asked those same questions 35 times!! As your customer, you should do everything in your power to get me the information that I need. In addition, don’t give me a serial number that doesn’t work…not ok!
  2. Use a help system that works – In the course of contacting tech support, I don’t mind being transferred once or twice. However, when you transfer me 8 times between similar departments and everyone says they’ve done what they’re supposed to but I keep being sent into a circular phone queue, there is something very, very wrong.  My favorite part is that I can spend an hour and a half being transferred around between people only to be hung up on. Really!? Really…
  3. When push comes to shove – I am not going to lie. I am very unhappy with the status of our software purchase through Sage. The software works fine, we just can’t activate it at the moment (2 months after our purchase). I promise I will not recommend your products ever again, and only continue to find solutions to our current situation because we invested a lot of money in getting your product running (including a bloody virtual server).

I feel like this picture is more than important to described my frustrations… thanks for playing Sage! You’ve struck out.

Update: 2.5 hours after this was posted and sent out on Twitter, a Customer Service supervisor contacted me with immediate resolution to all of our issues. That’s the power of social media.

What other horrible customer service stories do you have to share?

Picture credit. Picture credit 2.

11 Comments

  1. Russell,
    I’m very sorry to hear of the bad service experience you had trying to resolve your Sage ACT! issue. After reading your post on Twitter, I’m glad we were able to reach out to you and resolve the issue with your serial number. We strive to provide the best possible service experience and will do our best to ensure this does not happen again.

    Thanks,
    Greig Hollister
    Social Media Support
    Sage ACT!

Leave a Reply

