Social Media: The Power of the Sun in the Palm of Your Hand

Good Morning From Reno To All My Faithful Readers!

I hope that you all enjoyed your Fourth of July weekend, and took time to appreciate the sacrifices that countless people have made so that we can enjoy our freedom.

The subject of social media is often not taken very seriously in business. After all, how do you turn a profit on John Smith sharing his drunk party photos all over Facebook? Well, you wouldn’t. Social media is actually very misunderstood and isn’t utilized by people to the fullest extent. Since taking an MBA course in social media, my eyes have been opened to a whole new world, and an experience last week with customer service forever convinced me of the power of social media.

Social media offers many unique opportunities to tackling life’s issues, but here are the four that I’ve found to be the most powerful:

  1. Reach a very diverse group of people – No other communication medium allows you to reach so many people so quickly. Continents, countries, and oceans are spanned with the click of the button. Now that’s power! I would not have any success with blog readership without the sharing power of Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn. It is the most efficient way to share my message with the people I’m connected to, and costs me, literally, nothing.
  2. Avoid bulky “red tape” – Companies that utilize social media properly now how to respond to their customer’s needs in a very direct, concise, and efficient manner. Social media is a powerful way to “signal” a company and get their attention. What they do after you signal them reflects how good they are at customer service…
  3. Utilize social objects – Bret Simmons first presented the idea of social objects in our MBA course, so I recommend checking out his lecture on it, but a social object is essentially a piece of useful and helpful information that others would be interested in. My object of choice is my blog, which is then shared out through Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.
  4. Connect with people of similar interests (business and personal) – No other realm allows you to connect to so many people with so many similar (or different) interests so quickly. Frankly, I’ve been surprised by how many triathletes there are out there that not only do well at multisport competition but also have a passion for IT, social media, or technology!


What was your first “aha” moment over the power of social media?

Picture credit. Picture credit 2.

7 Comments

  1. My “Aha” moment was when I got 100 Facebook followers within a week for my young growing Miche Bag business! Also, have gained other customers from around the country, 2 of whom have visited Las Vegas recently and took time out to attend events I was having. :) I’m still not overly technologically saavy, but am smart enough to hire someone to mange my Facebook page: MicheDivaMaryanne

    Also, it’s interesting how many different ways you can google me, and my info comes up as the first entry on the search!

Leave a Reply

