A Year of Thankfulness

Let the Monday Madness ensue!

The holiday season has arrived, hot chocolate is in great abundance, turkeys and hams are being sold out, and the cold weather clothing and Christmas music has begun spilling out of closets everywhere.

The cold weather and lack of sun this time of year does not make me the happiest of people, but I do enjoy the time to gather around a massive amount of food with friends and family to share in thankfulness.

2011 has brought a ridiculous amount of things to be thankful for. It’s almost hard going back a year ago because so much has happened since then! I capped 2010 off with a wonderful trip to Jacksonville and Gainesville to see the grandparents and a very dear middle school friend, and the rest has been a blur.

For me, the great thing about this year has been the sheer amount of things I have to be thankful for. Typically, I’m running around the day before to fill up my “Thanksgiving jar,” an Aaron family tradition of recording and sharing everything we are thankful for the year, but this year I’ve had to spend every single week remaining thankful.

The ups and downs of life always make for an interesting time, and all too often I’m only thankful for the good things. The bad have a nice way of being pushed under the rug and avoided, even though 99% of growing and learning is done during the bad times!A

  • Thankfulness for new experiences – It’s tough competing with skydiving, a half Ironman, starting my MBA, whitewater rafting, Reno Tahoe Odyssey, band concerts, a marathon, trips all over the country, turning 25, going to a Wolf Pack bowl game, and many other adventures. Only a few of these were on my “to do” list at the beginning of 2011, and they have been severely outdone as new, more exciting opportunities presented themselves!
  • Thankfulness for friends & family – As cliched as it sounds, my family and friends are the bread and butter of my life. I couldn’t do anything without them, and it makes me happy thinking of the great bond and loyalty I have with the people near to my heart. They tolerate my ups and downs (but especially the downs), and always have an encouraging thought to share or find time to spend hanging out with me. I’m also very thankful for a girlfriend who tolerates me quite well and encourages me to think outside the box… :-) As the years go by, people come and go and relationships change, but that doesn’t make me any less thankful.
  • Thankfulness for an amazing job – Americans are often plagued by their horrible jobs that they “have” to spend 40 hours a week doing. I, on the other hand, “get” to go to my job! There are so many benefits and sweet opportunities and on top of that I get to work in a dynamic, high energy, FUN environment. BOOM

This year will be the year where I “took the road less traveled,” branched outside of myself to find new adventures, experienced life-changing events, put myself out there, became a connoisseur of risk-taking, and mostly discovered more about how I tick and reflecting on everything that has happened. Bring it 2012, I accept your challenge!

What are you most thankful for this year?

A

Picture credit. Picture credit 2. Picture credit 3.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

