The Silver Lining You’re Still Looking For

Happy Monday,

The semester continues to rattle on, fraying our senses and our sanity. Hard to believe that it’s been a year since I first dove into the chaotic fray known as “student body elections” but those 52 weeks have seemingly evaporated.

Part of my excitement about my job is that it is never, ever, ever the same. I can’t even begin to understand how “bored” I would be with all that free time if I “only” worked my 40 hours and didn’t have grad classes…

The month of March will be anything but normal, and things are getting kicked off in grandiose style with some NHL action. So excited!

I haven’t had much time to blog this week, mostly because I haven’t had much time in general! The demands of the semester are closing like a vice grip on my jugular, all while balancing out a myriad of commitments ranging from midterms to triathlon training, and exquisite travel plans that will consume every spare day on my calendar. Goodbye March.

As someone who is far more realistic than optimistic, it’s very easy to get overwhelmed with time-consuming plans and overburdened with the stresses of the semester. It’s like an unstoppable train carrying ninja passengers that are on fire. All down hill from here…

The lovely thing about Spring Break is that it will come at just the right time to save my sanity and prevent complete and total burnout. But will that be too little too late? Event though I’m cynical and realistic doesn’t mean that I don’t value the positive experiences and look for the good in what seems to be the bad. True, I bit off more than I can chew, again, but I’m still searching for the great outcomes buried beneath a heap of stressful schedules, coursework, and decision making.

A couple of positives to dwell on:

  • Spring Break
  • Aces baseball!! (4th season in Reno)
  • Warmer weather
  • May Marathon

Since beginning my job, the spring semester has always seemed to get the best of me and my colleagues, but we always manage to get through it all somehow. And we always take away great experiences to share. Living in the present is pretty stressful during these next few weeks, but the end result will be another phenomenal semester gone by with it’s own dose of adventure.

I haven’t really understood some of the discussions or interactions or occurrences that have happened these past months, but I continue to look for the silver lining, and I am oh so sure that it is there. It just hasn’t been revealed yet… Even in the midst of uncomfortable or unfun experiences, there is always something to be learned, something to be gleaned, and March will be no different. The path forward for the rest of the year is also kind of fuzzy, but should be made clear in good time. It just won’t be happening in Reno for the next chunk of it…

Picture credit 1. Picture credit 2.

Leave a Reply

