4 Reasons Everyone Needs a Pet Elephant

Happy Hump Day,

It’s come to my attention that riding an elephant was probably the highlight of my excursion to Thailand!

This doesn’t surprise me because they’re more like something out of a dream than your everyday encounter-able animal. What a cool experience it was!

  1. Intelligent – Elephants have got to be some of the smartest animals on the planet. It’s pretty incredible looking up at a towering behemoth of a creature only to see it gazing back at you through its giant eyeballs. If eyes are a window to the soul, then elephants have a lot going on. Besides judging you for being inferior in stature, you can’t help but wonder what else they are thinking about. It’s amazing that an animal is capable of so much, and needless to say, busting out a water color is pretty freaking impressive! Too bad the scenic one cost $200 >:[

    Eleph-art!
  2. Funny – It’s nice to know that your pets have a sense of humor, and what better example of that than an elephant who is constantly rearranging your closet and eating ALL of your food? I don’t know if they always enjoy being held captive and around humans, but the ones I saw looked ridiculously freaking happy. What kind of elephant smiles like this!? It’s almost like these creatures are mocking us for living such drab lives! I honestly think they were gloating...

  3. Useful – I love my pet rats to death, but I just don’t know what purpose they serve other than being cute and cuddly and emotionally supportive when I have a bad day. Actually, I don’t even know how well they do that… My Fuzzies serve a purpose, and that is to fill a hole in my life for cuddly creatures. However, they aren’t very practical at doing things. They don’t want to go running with me. They can’t really get in a pool. And anytime we curl up to watch a movie they jump on the floor. It’s a love-hate relationship :( Elephants, on the other hand, seem willing and able to haul excessive loads, help in constructing buildings, and generally just perform and entertain you in exchange for tasty treats!
  4. Supportive – It seems to me that as long as you feed your pet elephant 10,000 pounds of food a day, they will love and cherish you forever. That’s loyalty! We can all use a good dose of loyal and dedicated people in our lives, and who says that it’s cheating to bribe an elephant to join your team?! If I can’t have a dog, I might as well have a pachyderm.

It was really cool to see these monstrous animals running around in what is as close to their natural habitat as I’ll get. Totally worth the plane ticket!

In all of my travels, it has never ceased to amaze me at all the cool and wonderful animals that are on the planet. Riding an elephant was not that dissimilar from waking up in the boondocks in Australia and seeing a kangaroo in the backyard. It’s just that awesome!

What have been your favorite encounters with exotic animals?

4 Comments

  1. Heck yes! If you think the fuzzies like me just wait and see how Ella and I will get along. Oh yeah, I’ve already named your pet elephant. You’re welcome.

  2. I just love animals! And another news… I just found out that Manila Zoo has a cute elephant named Mali, and she is the only elephant in the Philippines! She has lived there for almost all of her lives, for more than 30 years. The zoo should feel like her sweet and cozy home now. But then, I read some articles in PETAAsiaPacific.com, and I noticed that Mali is in fact sad and lonely! Look at her here: https://www.facebook.com/FreeMali. She is like a prisoner, who cannot spend her days with her friends, roam in vast territories, and have delicious adequate food! She even suffers from foot problems. Why does she deserve this? :( Please Help Her!

Leave a Reply

