Finding Your Support System Through Superheroes

And a very Happy Friday to everyone. If today isn’t officially marked as a holiday on your calendar, then you don’t like Star Wars enough :-) May the 4th Be With You! (That just happened!)

Classes officially end next Tuesday, meaning that this is the last full week of school! Come on summer :-)

I’m always one for exciting and event-packed weekends, and this one is no different. Finals are boring down on me, a marathon is around the corner, and Avengers is on the books! YES! Can’t wait. Nothing like Tony Stark with a mix of Captain America, Thor, and the Hulk to start off an awesome weekend.

A marathon is still a monumental occasion for me, and I’m looking forward to it with anxiety, anticipation, and hope. Hopefully not a lot of GI discomfort… :P I am excited that I will have a great turnout of people who support me and believe in what I am doing with my life. I know that they don’t really understand why I do the things that I do, and may not even understand how I find the time to do them. However, there’s nothing quite like bringing your loyal people with you into battle…

I’ve always looked up to superheroes, as I’m sure many of you have, and it always amazes me how they inspire us and show courage and backbone and the ability to persist. Perhaps their greatest feat, is the ability to work as a team.

Yes, it’s rare in the superhero world for characters like Batman or Wolverine to team up easily with lesser beings (for the record, the only greater superhero, in my opinion, is Iron Man) but  they still work together when they need to. That got me thinking about my support system I get from friends and family, and on the flip-side, the support system that I offer to others.

Here’s a few things that every person needs from their support team:

  • Loyalty – There is nothing that can beat having someone loyal on your team. They stick with you through thick and thin, and offer comfort and support when you need it. They are also willing to jump in the ring and take your blows with you at your side.
  • Honest – You’re only as strong as your weakest link, and if you don’t have people to call you on your crap then you’re missing out. There is a time and a place to be brutally honest and to give people your real opinion. Granted, you need to be tactful about it, but that is one of the most valuable things you can do for someone is provide honesty even when it hurts.
  • Trustworthy – How can you expect to face the world if you have doubts about who does or doesn’t have your back? The people who bail when times get tough weren’t ever worth joining forces with in the first place. However, that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t show people some grace when they hurt you. The high quality friends that are worth keeping will quickly separate themselves from the rest of the pack.
  • Super powers – Alright fine, maybe we don’t get super strength or X-ray vision or the ability to fly, but I know that you can pick out the best attributes in your friends. You have a friend who’s exceptionally good at listening, or one who will always be there when you feel like shredding your pillows, or the friend who is just calm and collected no matter how out of control you seem to get. It’s incredible that people are wired uniquely to handle different situations, and that is something worth keeping around. Make sure to value the unique attributes that each individual brings to the table.


The Avengers wouldn’t be much of a team without a bad-ass iron machine, a hammer-wielding buffoon, or a genetically mutated mass of muscle. Of all the people that I have encountered in life, it seems to be those who surround themselves with “well rounded” people that handle their adventures the best.

Your friends are a reflection of who you are as a person, and it’s those that have the greatest team assembled around them that set themselves up to deal with the hurdles efficiently and leverage themselves to the greatest successes.

Who do you surround yourself with in your teams?

Picture credit 1. Picture credit 2.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

