A Quest Worthy of Pursuit

A very happy Thursday to you all!

This post was actually done Tuesday night but it wasn’t posted… cut me some slack :P

For those who didn’t hear, a new Ironman was announced at Lake Tahoe for September 2013. Needless to say, I was slightly excited and may have jumped around my office for a few seconds contemplating the logistics and glory of having an Ironman in my backyard.

Seeing as how I want to do an Ironman next year anyway, it just made sense. Much to my horror, surprise, and chagrin, the race sold out in under 24 hours (a world first)! That quickly burst my bubble and hopes for a nearby IM. However, I’m still planning on IM Coeur d’Alene next June, so not all is lost.

Summer school is absolutely pounding my brain, my heart, and my soul, and not leaving much to spare. It’s a wonderful class, the teacher has a fantastic and very unique style, but we’re just trying to cram too much in all at once. It’s rather painful actually, and I think I’m still a week behind…

I’ve always been interested in leadership, so it’s nice to finally get some coursework under my belt and some good resources. In reading through one of our assigned (but not mandatory) books, I stumbled upon this quote:

Man knows himself only to the extent that he knows the world;

he becomes aware of himself only within the world,

and aware of the world only within himself.

Every object, well contemplated, opens up a new organ of perception within us.

-Johann Wolfgang v. Goethe

I feel that this fits in very nicely with my MBA program as a whole. My knowledge has certainly increased vastly, but even more so, my perception and understanding of the world has changed even more. The more you learn in life, the less you know, but the more you understand the importance of knowledge and applying it daily.

My quest to conquer 140.6 miles of swim, bike, and run is noble and challenging and life-changing, but the more important quest I’m involved in is the quest for knowledge. Learning is something that drives me as a human being; something that gives me energy and purpose. Leaders in business have the responsibility of giving their company direction and of watching out for the interests of their employees (even though many leaders disagree).

However, their responsibilities don’t stop there. Responsibility spills into the social and economic realm too. It is the job of leaders to make sustainable decisions (economic, social, and environmental) while being able to view their employees as people, not mindless machines taking over the world (T-1000 anyone?).

Hopefully, I’ve got a long ways to go in learning how to find my way in the world, and the plan is to have my MBA pave the path. It will not be the culmination of my learning experiences, but rather the beginning of a new chapter in my life. Who’s to say what lies next? It certainly won’t be a PhD, but there are plenty of options out there…

What quest are you currently pursuing?


Picture credit 1
.

Leave a Reply

