Plan B Will Just Have to Suffice

Morning!

Unsurprisingly enough, the weekend’s festivities didn’t go according to plan. I don’t know why this always seems to surprise me, but I seem to be getting better about taking things with a grain of salt!

The alarm went off at 4:05, energy-packed breakfast consisted of a bagel, banana, and peanut butter PowerBar, and it was off to the races! San Francisco Bay is known for its tides and crazy currents but I had swam this course no problem every year since 2009, why would this year be any different?

The swim began as usual but a half hour into what should have been a 19 minute swim, I realized something was wrong. The tides had quickly turned and a huge majority of the swimmers were struggling viciously against the current, but instead of streaking forward most were bobbing like fishes. I was one of only a handful of swimmers who actually completed the first of two laps, and by the time we got back to the beach to begin lap two we were surprised to see all of the swimmers piling out of the water and heading towards transition. Turns out they scrapped the swim mid-race and would only count the bike and run portions! GAH! The swim is always my chance to build a lead on most of the competitors and it was ripped from my gasp.

I don’t know what it is about this race season, but it just isn’t going as smoothly as I was expecting. I have had significant cuts to my last two triathlons, had a disappointing marathon, and missed a top two finish by 30 seconds in April. I guess it’s just more good lessons to be learned in patience. Only at mile 22 of the bike ride did I begin to find it amusing how none of this had gone according to my plan but that is still worked out OK. To the triathlon gods, I warn you… don’t botch something at Lake Stevens or you may force me to quit the sport! :-)

So things haven’t gone according to plan, that’s OK too. I’m gradually (and slowly) accepting that flexibility is something I’m just going to have to work on for a long time, and there’s no clear end in sight! Strangely enough, I’m registering for my Ironman today, now that’s a big plan… let’s hope it goes (relatively) according to plan.

Onwards I go in pursuing my quest for flexibility and rubber band like qualities. It won’t be easy but it will be rewarding…

Is your summer going to plan or do you feel like you’re floundering?

Picture credit 1.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

