The Simple Facts of Life

Greetings from another beautiful day in Reno!

My triathlon season has come and gone, with much more disappointment than joy and celebration. I guess now that it’s over, I don’t mind the letdown so much, but it seems costly to invest so much time and money into something that just wound up being a major disappointment (for 2012 at least).

All in all, it can only be further preparation for life, Ironman Coeur d’Alene 2013, and the great beyond.  My life has never been one to make since in linear fashion, and often times it takes months or years for me to fully understand why certain things happen. It’s true, a lame season can be seen as a crushing blow and at the moment, that’s how it feels. I do, however, believe that it will serve some purpose either in November, or next June, or maybe in 2015.

Here are my thoughts on the simple facts of life:

Of this I know of the mountains that lay before me, there is no one better equipped than I for those challenges. No one possesses the tools, experiences, or thoughts that I have, and no one knows how to use them like I do. I’m not the master of my destiny, but I’m certainly the one responsible for it.

I don’t have all of the answers, but I know what has brought me to this place in life. Is there one better equipped than I to tackle my challenges and uphill battles? I think not. It is the brave who press on into the unknown, who help to carry the burdens of others, and who press forward even when there is no hope in sight.  Crossing the finish line may always surprise you, despite the pains of the race you have just run. Never forget that success and winning are two very different ideas.

The smallest of stepping stones help to make progress, and the most perilous of journeys can be conquered one step at a time. The appropriate use of handrails and a helping hand from time to time turns out to be far greater than bearing the weight of your journey on your own.

What better vantage point to admire the beauty of all we’ve accomplished than from the peak of a great terror that you conquered? There is no greater feeling in the world.

It is not the situation that creates us but how we react and handle those situations that sculpts and carve us for the future. In my short time on this planet, I have never encountered something that did not have an impact on my life. However, very rarely have I seen the immediate impact of those experiences. Like wine, it takes time.

Races are meant to be run. Meant to be a challenge. And meant to get you out of your comfort zone, much like the journeys of life. The race that breaks you and gets you down is only in preparation for greater things. What better chance to rise to the occasion and prove your doubts wrong?

After all, who can say what the outcome of life will be? Certainly not I…

-RMA

What are your stepping stones?

Picture credit 1. Picture credit 2.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

