The Rigorous Grind

Happy Friday,

Blogging, as of late, has not been easy to find time, energy, thoughts, or ideas to do. It’s time consuming and helpful, but then again, it’s time consuming. Two weeks into school and I’m already burning out… Sleep just isn’t what it used to be and the number of commitments steadily increases. However, football season and cooler weather will be an added bonus to the semester!

I love learning and I love school. I love Nevada and I love triathlon. However, in the midst of all those warm fuzzy feelings there is still the issue of time management, responsibility shifting, and grinding through the unpleasantness that life throws at you, in addition to the tasty banana splits with a cherry on top. It’d be much easier to only have to deal with the fun, exciting, non-taxing things in life but of course that’d be too good to be true.

If risks are worth the reward, then time commitments and grinding through the rigors of daily life must be worth the graduate degree. The idea I’m slowly understanding through my many experiences are that no one has any bloody idea how to be me. Everyone has opinions and thoughts, but none of them are me. Of course I appreciate other’s opinions and input, but I’m the one who has to live with my decisions and the impact that they have. That’s kind of intense!

I’ve never been one to lean solely on others for support, and tend to find the ways on my own, with the occasional “advice seeking” stops or taking time to reassess the situation. It’s true that I become more of the person I need to be when experiencing the tough times, but that doesn’t mean I don’t find things to complain about or pretend that I’m not struggling and not really having the time of my life. If our experiences are what we make of it, then I’ll just have to try harder to remember the good, along with the bad.

Experience is not what happens to a man.  It is what a man does with what happens to him.

~Aldous Leonard Huxley, Texts and Pretexts, 1932

Picture credit 1. Picture credit 2.

Leave a Reply

