Things Americans Do Well

Well somehow another year has passed and it is again time to remember the events of 9/11. Eleven years sounds like a long time. Like, a really long time! But then again, where did the time go?

I’ve never really experienced a catastrophic event in my life other than September 11th, and I was too young for the Challenger explosion to impact me the way it did for say, my parents. Growing up with this as a part of my life, and having experienced pre and post 9/11 certainly brings with it a very different perspective than someone born in 1998. On a day like today, it was hard not to find reason to complain (the first thing Americans do well) even on a day so focused on remembrance (our second thing we do) and sadness and memorializing

Complaining and Remembering

By the time I was at the pool this morning, I was already thoroughly miffed at people and their actions. First, the terrible driver in the huge SUV just decided to block the driveway entrance to the gym, putting both himself and his gas-guzzling monstrosity in between me and my workout. The best part was he acted like it was my fault he was in my way! Awesome… I didn’t put much stake in that but what really got me going was the idiot who was interrupting the girl at the desk while she was checking me in and getting me a locker key and towel. He can wait in line just like everyone else and his world won’t come crumbling down if he has to wait an extra 15 seconds! 5:45 am is not the time to be a jerk, especially somewhere like the gym where like-minded people are supposed to show some sort of understanding. Hahaha, yeah right!

Even though it is easy for people to forget the past, we tend to do a pretty good job remembering the events that greatly affected us. I was reminded of this in the locker room as the names of those who died in the Twin Tower collapse were read off on national TV. It’s far too easy to let minor inconveniences (like idiotic people) ruin my day, and that’s not the way it should be. Too many people have exponentially more problems, and problems that are more legitimate. Our perspective is so often twisted. Our problems (groceries, buying new games or clothes, tuition payments, etc.) don’t even count as actual problems, and yet I find so many reasons to pull them out of context and whine and moan.

It is my hope and prayer that for the rest of my life, something stirs inside me on September 11th. Not to resent those who attacked us but to mourn the loss of the innocent and the atrocity that changed all of our lives that day. Here’s something to leave you with some thought for the remainder of the day:

“Time is passing. Yet, for the United States of America, there will be no forgetting September the 11th. We will remember every rescuer who died in honor. We will remember every family that lives in grief. We will remember the fire and ash, the last phone calls, the funerals of the children.”

President George W. Bush, November 11, 2001

I hope that you can go about your day, thankful that we’ve got so much to live for. And don’t forget to remember the past…

Picture credit 1.

2 Comments

  1. You talk about pewople doing inconsiderate or dumb things. I just got laid off from my job . . via email . . . 2 of them.

    Rudest and poorest mgmt team that I’ve ever worked for.

Leave a Reply

