The Risks of Mountain Climbing

Good Morning,

I’ve registered for my last semester of my MBA! BAM, life is looking up. However, that follows an incredibly rough and rather lousy weekend. Doesn’t it always though!?

What I find amazing is how I’m always surprised at the dangers of mountain climbing. Every time I encounter a monstrous pile of rock that seems a very daunting challenge, I quickly forgot all the work that I’ve already put into getting there in the first place. It seems when we reach the plateau at the top we quickly forget all the cuts, scrapes, broken limbs, and other collateral damage that takes place anytime we encounter a massive challenge in our life.

Perhaps we take the good times too much for granted or are just disillusioned about the bad times. Whatever the case, it’s always lousy falling back into unpleasant times, even if they always result in growth and and increase in character. We fall down to get back up, broken bones will eventually heal and so will broken hearts.

Each mountain brings it’s ups and downs, although each mountain that follows is more difficult than the previous. Each (and every) time that I get to the pinnacle of what I think is the most demanding, stressful, brutalizing, strenuous, and testing mountain of my life, I look up and see not only a larger mountain but a range of mountains that dwarfs the ones that I had already scaled.

Life is never boring, and for good reason, but why is it that the bad always follows the good only to feed back into something good? Ugh. I was discussing with a friend yesterday the physical pains of heartbreak and how they are manifested in a very real, literally painful way. It’s almost worse when it’s not something like a physical break in a bone or a tear in a muscle, those I at least understand the process of healing. For the heart, well, it’s just a matter of time…

It’s going to be an interesting week, as always. I guess it’s just time to re-immerse myself in Ironman training. Here’s to the next mountain range!

Picture credit 1. Picture credit 2.

6 Comments

  1. Great attitude, Russell.

    It’s a lesson learned from the world of sports. When you fall down or get knocked off of your horse, you get back up again.

    That’s what the apostle Paul meant when he wrote so many times about perseverance.

    With the Lord, all things are possible.

Leave a Reply

