Season of Thankfulness

And a very Happy Hump Day to everyone!

Hopefully you’re geared up for Thanksgiving tomorrow and have all of your tasty treats in a row. This is that time of year when everything just goes crazy… people are running around cooking, cleaning, preparing for guests, finishing school work, flying, not flying because O’Hare is shutdown, Christmas shopping, Black Friday shopping, Cyber Monday shopping, clothes shopping, OMG shopping … anyways, this time of year is certainly not boring!

This is blog #175. Enjoy!

This year has been so much different than I thought it would be. Actually, it’s been about 180 degrees different… 2011 was freaking amazing! 2012. Well… 2012 was just meh. There’s been some good things and some bad things, a very few great things and a lot more major downers. There are times when I feel 2012 wore me out and others when I believe that I really stuck it to this year, despite its mountains. It’s all a part of life I suppose!

However, in reflecting on the last 11 (almost 12) months, I still have things I’m thankful for…

  1. Badass group of friends – Honestly, I have a phenomenally diverse group of people I surround myself with and I could not live without them. I’ve got a black belt, a biochemist, a web programmer, two veterinarians, a dude from Ohio, a couple of married friends and a few with kids (some with more kids than others), someone who can’t stay in one place too long, at least one person shorter than me who might be from Malaysia, a die hard fan of the Wolf Pack, a chef, an engineer at the power company, a guy with a neon green mohawk, “Big Tuna” Jones, the list goes on and on and on and on.
  2. Family that always loves me – Family is the one thing in life that is truly invaluable. No other relationship exists like it, and it’s only in a family that you can be loved and frustrated with someone so much at the same time. It’s also nice having people who always take your side in the face of challenges, because that’s what families do… look out for each other!
  3. Good sounding boards – I have a pretty solid set of people who can just listen to me run my mouth, which isn’t the easiest thing to do. Honestly, one of the best things that I have incorporated into my life is advice givers, mentors, people much wiser than I who can guide me when I feel lost. Parents certainly fall into this category as well but there is something very valuable in having others bring an outside opinion to discussions.
  4. Activities that rock – It’s hard to be bored when you’re me! I’ve got MBA graduation around the corner, trumpet playing, ballroom dancing  (yeah, I like to salsa and swing), purchasing a new triathlon bike, snowboarding, drinking hot chocolate, watching movies, pouring over books, and certainly not least, training for an Ironman. My problem isn’t in filling my schedule, it’s in staying sane while doing it. I would like nothing more than to just pack it all in day after day, week after week, but we all know that wouldn’t end well. Unfortunately, there are limits, and in all our lives there are 168 of them every week, week in and week out, 52 weeks a year. What better way to play the cards we’re dealt than by managing our time :-)

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving. It only comes once a year, and apparently, time continues to speed up the further we get into it. It’s always hard for me this time of year thinking of the things that have passed. They all seem like yesterday even though they were so long ago (high school, college graduation, our dog Roxy).

The enigma of time is not something I will ever try to solve, but boy it would be great if I knew the answer… Cheers!

Picture credit 1. Picture credit 2.

Leave a Reply

