You Don’t Always Have to Make Things Happen For Them to Happen

TGIF!

It is finally coming to my attention that not everything I want out of life needs to be “made to happen.” Sometimes life just needs to take its course and I need to let it do its thing.

2013 started well. I’m back in the Pops. Triathlon season is around the corner. School is getting ready to go full speed. My friends are awesome. Life is good! I read, and reread my old blogs from 2012, and the theme in almost all of them was the dreaded change. So here I am, on the doorstep to 2013 looking at all the change at the end of 2012, all the change that will happen in the middle of 2013, and I am finally at peace with letting change happen. I can only do so much to make change happen, and after that it’s all part of the ride.

The change that I thought I wanted and tried to force to happen ended up backfiring, and changes that I hadn’t expected or didn’t realize I needed happened on their own. Of course you still need to take control of your life and be in charge and accountable, but sometimes following without having a plan or destination is how it should be. Other times, you can’t do anything but be helpless as you wait for the starter in your car to be replaced, but sometimes that can be a freeing experience as you figure your life out without wheels. Just a little dash of adventure! :-)

I have no clue where I’m heading this year, but that’s OK. I have a general picture, somewhat of a road map, and plenty of pencils to make changes and corrections as I go. Perhaps this will be the year I begin to understand that the journey of life is what actually counts, not where the river ends up. In the words of my wise and very dear friend, C. Campbell… just let it happen! Well, it’s time to put my money where my mouth is…

twisting_river

“What makes a river so restful to people is that it doesn’t have any doubt – it is sure to get where it is going, and it doesn’t want to go anywhere else.”

-Hal Boyle

Picture credit 1. Picture credit 2.

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

