Why Your Brand Won’t Manage Itself

In the great and glorious world of business, we’re surrounded by social media and overwhelmed with technology spewing out of our pores. A constant inundation with “the Google” and a need for connectivity means that who you are and what you represent are critical in getting ahead in the world.

Just like in the good old days, you are your greatest advocate, primarily because no one else is going to go to bat for you. You’re in charge of managing your brand, but you don’t have to do it solo.

Networking still remains one of the greatest tools on the planet for finding a solution to problems, helping others get what they need out of life, or for simply tapping into your synergistic juices. Knowing someone who knows someone who knows the answer is a powerful addition to any team, and can let you leverage previous relationships that you have built in the classroom, work setting, or even out on the triathlon course. You never know when someone may come in handy in helping to solve a problem…

I’ve been managing my brand for nearly two years, and what an exciting two years it has been. When most people think of a brand they think of a logo or phrase associated with a company, but a brand is really much more than that. It’s more of an all-encompassing effort that conveys what it is you do, with a splash of your personality, along with the things or activities that you value in your life. I chose to mix in things I learn from triathloning (new word) with my exciting and frustrating experiences I’ve encountered  in the business world. I tell (mostly) true stories with a dash of hilarity and outrageous humor, review some tech gadgets people ask me about, or just rant about people being ridiculous.

The funny thing is, you never know who is going to read your blog. Part of the joy of blogging is putting your voice out there, but the other unexpected part is forming relationships or having a conversation with someone you may not have met along the way. Honestly, I don’t blog for anyone other than myself, but two years into it I have developed a small following that expect to hear my stories, quips, and other silly or serious tales involving whatever stumbles upon my way in the journey of life. It’s pretty fun :-)

Fairground

When thinking of your brand, be sure that you know your audience but that your audience also knows you. People who know me understand how I organize my very busy schedule, and they have a grasp for my many priorities and activities. However, if I don’t understand why I’m writing than what point does that serve? Well, it wouldn’t.

I blog to present Russell Aaron to the world, for whatever that is worth. I think I’ve got big ideas worth sharing, experiences worth retelling, and some advice that I’ve collected along the way from people much wiser than I. I like to think that I am a unique piece in the puzzle, and try to present myself as such. After all, no one else is going to! Here’s to more branding in the future!

Picture credit 1. Picture credit 2.

9 Comments

  1. The ironic part is that if you try to blog for other people you will lose passion for it and will ultimately end up quitting. Similarly, if you try and brand yourself as something you’re not because you think that’s what people want, you’ll fail.

    1. Absolutely, it’s a very difficult balance! How do you go about balancing the two? I’d much rather to prefer blogging for myself while still being myself than compromising in either area.

  2. HA had to laugh at your Mom’s quote because I recently posted a quote by the same guy on my FB page. “Fashion is a form of ugliness so intolerable that we have to alter it every six months.” VERY appropriate for my business….get those handbags updated, ladies!!

Leave a Reply

