6 Ways to Make Your Life Better

Happy Hump Day!

The semester is nearly over and graduation is only a few measly weeks away with school wrapping up this Saturday. Yes! So, straight to the point!

Be sure to laugh – I have admitted time and again that I thrive under pressure but don’t always handle it well. The only explanation for even staying sane is that I work my butt off in my career, my training, and school, and even in the midst of the most stressful few weeks of my year, I still have found time to laugh with my friends and that always seems to clear the air.

Make time for your friends – Besides food, friends are the most important thing in your life, and be sure to make time for them. While I may have slipped off of the map for a semester, I really make the effort to connect with them in ways that makes them feel appreciated and important. Going to Aces baseball is so much more fun with your peeps than wandering there alone.

Go on adventures – Life is too short and the world too big to not get out and see the country. As an introvert, I can really appreciate my solo adventures to this race and that, crossing a state or two en route to my next triathlon. Even a road trip with three of your favorite friends can provide a wonderful break from reality. Indulge yourself with your social time and drag your friends along wherever you’re heading!

Take some risks – The most dangerous risk is the one that you don’t take. It’s OK to be the person who just lives a humdrum life, riskless and carefree, but they experience zero growth, they don’t have fun adventures, and likely, their friends may tire of listening to them munching on Doritos constantly. Find new and exciting ways to engage yourself, get involved in your community, take a journey…

Rediscover yourself – What three words would you use to describe yourself? And would those three words have been the same last year? Five years ago? What about ten? There are core pieces of us that will rarely change, and then there are pieces of us that change annually or monthly. Keep up with knowing yourself. Embrace the things you learn. Find ways to live your life more according to who you are as a person and not how you think everyone assumes you should live. Be the master of your own domain. You owe it to yourself!

Get a dog! – I must admit, I have waited a long, long time to get a dog, and the perfect opportunity has finally arrived. Furry companions, as many of you know, provide a wonderful boost to your life. I miss my rats terribly but I’m so excited to get a dog of my own. It’s like having a new member in my house, a fun companion for tackling life, and someone to talk to when I get home from a long day at work. Best. Week. EVER!

That’s life in a nutshell (gross oversimplification) but good luck with the rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

