What’s Your Legacy?

It’s a very happy occasion… Iron Man 3 comes out today! I can’t believe that it’s been five years since the first one came out. GAH! What the heck!?!? May is always a wonderful time of the year, and always brings some of the fondest memories. The spring air (with allergens) is here, but with it a fresh dose of Vitamin D if you can manage to get outside.

In less than 30 hours I will be done, done, DONE with the MBA program. It’s kind of hard for me to wrap my brain around that idea. I’ve spent so long studying, putting together group projects, writing proposals, and a myriad of other things that I’m having a hard time visualizing a time in my life without school. I’ve loved the learning, enjoyed meeting new people, appreciated the counsel and wisdom of professors, and yet suddenly that’s not going to be a part of my life anymore. Trust me, I’m incredibly relieved to have one monstrous thing off of my plate, but it just feels so strange. I kind of want to rejoice and mourn all at the same time.

If you’re familiar with the University of Nevada campus (note: not UNR) you may be aware of the omniscient and very wise bubbling rock. It’s my favorite spot on campus to take my troubles, seek counsel, or just find some quiet time for my thoughts. I fondly remember spending time there as an undergrad in 2005 and now here I am. It’s very odd and yet the show must go on…

The incipient knot in my stomach is thickening and getting heavier as the days turn into weeks, the weeks into months. I have no more safety cushion. No more time to plan. The real world has once again arrived and come May 17th, things will be great, things will be different, things will be… well, I honestly don’t know how things will be. Story of my life, right?

I have 107 hours of triathlon training to jam in in eight weeks. Seriously people, please don’t try to hang out with me constantly. It just isn’t going to happen! I can only hope that is enough prep to get me across the 140.6 mile finish line. The race is now within sight and it’s a sickening anxiety. Yes, it’s exciting and yes it’s going to be an experience of a lifetime, but on the other hand… it’s the experience of a lifetime! It’s horrifying, sickening, and so unknown. I was digging through the race results from last year as well as course details and the other myriads of info that they provide and it’s going to be an interesting voyage. To infinity and beyond I suppose!

As I discuss the past semester with friends or family, it’s frankly ridiculous that I even survived the 16 weeks between triathlon racing, adjusting to a new job, school, band, travel, outings with friends, getting a dog, training for triathlon, going to baseball games, salsa dancing, eating for triathlon, sleeping occasionally, and whatever else.

IronmanCDA

Have I arrived yet? Nope. Will I have arrived after MBA graduation? Nah, not at all. How about after Ironman? I certainly hope not. And yet these goals and dreams have been built a piece at a time over many, many years. I didn’t just wake up and decide “Aha! Today is the day I’m going to ruin my social schedule for the next couple of years while I do all of these things.” Rather, it was a piece here, a few pieces there: the proverbial puzzle of life if you will.

The crushing excitement/nervousness will only increase over these next days and weeks as life continues to roll on by. I just need to make the effort to enjoy every moment because suddenly I will wake up and not be a student… oh wait…

To conjecture, I would say that things will be different next week, they will certainly be different by the end of June, but then again things will probably be very different even by the end of 2013. There’s nothing but adventure in my sights and I’m steaming full speed ahead.

Picture credit 1.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

