Living Life to the Fullest

People often pose the question “what would you do if you only had XX days to live.” Well, I pose this to you: what would you do if you knew you only had two weeks until you started fully living?

It’s paralyzing to think that in 14 days I won’t just be Russell Aaron anymore. I will, in fact, be Russell “Ironman” Aaron. Or maybe, Russell “Man of Iron” Aaron. Or perhaps just The Ironman. Haha! Regardless, there’s some pretty significant changes that are coming down the pipe especially considering the powerful impact even just a half Ironman had on my life…

I have quite the history with my gang of friends in Reno. At a BBQ Saturday night, we sat around shooting the breeze, enjoying each other’s company, and telling stories from the past and making plans for the future. We’re a very unique group between personalities, career choices, hobbies, and everything else in between. It really makes you appreciate the little differences.

We all enjoy what makes us different, and learn to leverage what makes us diverse. I know who to go to if I need help figuring out what aperture to use taking a night shot of the Reno skyline just like I know who to ask for help if I’m trying to cook a killer breakfast burrito. How boring would our lives be without uniqueness?

I look back on the years since I’ve been in Reno, and it really makes me appreciate the life choices I’ve made, both the good and the bad. 2013 has been a killer year so far and we’ve still got six months left. I don’t know how I will be feeling in two weeks, but I do know that no matter what happens I plan on making the most of what’s left in 2013 and beyond. Life won’t be the same for me, and I hope it changes everything in a crazy-positive way.

Buckle up and watch the countdown continue!

Picture credit.

Leave a Reply

