The Brink of Greatness

Happy Hump Day.

Ironman is reaching out with its beckoning hand, bringing the challenge ever nearer and ever closer. It’s too late to turn back now. My bags are packed (figuratively) and the journey shall begin soon enough

Coeur d’Alene, I’m about to write an epic poem all over your asphalt!

I’ve been waiting for this day for a very long time, and yet it doesn’t feel anything like I thought it would. Seriously, I expected some nerves and a dose of adrenaline fueled excitement but the drastic swings between stoked out of my mind and terrified as a small child at a horror movie is a little intense. I have never felt this bipolar in my life, but I clearly can’t decide how I feel about the greatest race I’ve yet to confront. Is this what getting married feels like?

I have not attempted something of this magnitude before … perhaps you’ve spent a very significant portion of your life getting ready for something and then suddenly it’s knocking on your door. The anticipation and build-up to that moment has been overpowering, and then as you approach the moment itself it just squeezes you like a lemon. Nothing like fresh-squeezed lemonade. Mmmm!

Be World Class.

It’s really hard to grasp the gravity of that phrase, but really everyone should strive to be world class at some point in their life. If you are going to do something, you might as well be phenomenal at it, yea?

Sunday’s starting line is my springboard to greatness, no matter what the outcome. I, and 1,999 of my closest friends, will toe that starting line and journey through an experience few have successfully passed. “Race,” “fast,” and “quick” aren’t really associated with the Ironman but it’s more along the lines of “endurance,” ‘guts,” and “will.” It’s a mind game, and one which will be played over and over again along the extremely long course of the day.

As a friend said to me, this whole Ironman thing is a razor’s edge balancing act. A balance between total insanity and physical destruction of your ligaments and muscles, and priming yourself for being in the greatest shape of your life. How much of life is a great balancing act though? Well, most of it.

I’m not good at bringing balance or calm to my life (ask anyone that knows me) but as I’m sitting here Tuesday night with no internet, a dog begging for more loving attention, and a pile of laundry waiting to be folded, I realize that this entire training experience has forced me to find balance, even if it’s buried amongst 6 hours of a sleep a night, smashing out an MBA, or fleeing Reno for the hills every now and then. Sunday morning when the sun creeps over the horizon, I hope to feel more balanced than I ever have, and that is a feeling worth doing all of this for.

20130619-105046.jpg

I have been to the brink and fled in terror. Now, it is time to leap across in grandiose style!

Picture credit 1. Picture credit 2.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

