Rockin’ Down the Highway

Happy Hump Day,

I finally decided it’s time to get out of the writers block and into the fire again… it’s been far too long.

Picture credit 1.

It has been a very weird summer. Weird in that sense that there have been 35,493 different things going on and yet something just doesn’t feel quite right. After blasting up mountain after mountain for a very significant amount of time, my world has been yanked back into reality, and it just isn’t as exciting as it used to be. Granted, summer still holds fun things (have a billion weddings to go to still), but to what end?

I feel like I’m tripping and stumbling my way down the other side of the mountains, picking my way through thorny shrubs and unpleasant ankle twisting instead of sailing smoothly over a glassy lake.

My path is laid out before me as a long, winding highway, however, there are no stripes, there’s no pavement, and in fact there’s not a single sign along the way. I haven’t even seen another car. As far as I can see, the only symbol of life I’ve even passed says “2014 race season 199 days away.” Great…

I think the Doobie Brothers said it best…

“Got those highway blues, can’t you hear my motor runnin’
Flyin’ down the road with my foot on the floor
All the way in town they can hear me comin’
Ford’s about to drop, she won’t do no more
And I smell my motor burnin’
Underneath the hood is smoke
Can’t stop, and I can’t stop
Got to keep on movin’ or I’ll lose my mind…”

I certainly was flying down the road, pedal to the metal, and yes, my car has burned and smoked itself out (oh the irony). It would be far easier to have some ridiculous goal looming over me like a great and terrifying trip through Mordor, but at the moment it’s just a casual jaunt through a field of very unimpressive flowers.

On the bright side, there is much solace to be found in nature. I’ve enjoyed a great number of hikes with my furry companion, who seems to take full advantage of any opportunity of being outside, ball chasing associated or not. Perhaps I should be more like her and enjoy each moment of the fresh air when I can.

20130717-094717.jpg

I feel as though I’m gazing at what was once a beautiful painting smattered with bright colors, patterns that leap off the canvas, playful designs, and rolling scenery. Unfortunately, the color has all been sucked out from it and it stares back at me from my wall, hung limply and staring back at me with drab, gray overtones and looming storm clouds.

2013 has still been freaking epic; perhaps it just needs more time to soak into my bones. Thankfully, baseball and roller coasters await this week! Maybe that’s my ticket back to recovering my summer post-IRONMAN…

Leave a Reply

