The Iron Road

Happy Friday!

I am actually a huge fan of this cold weather. It makes you feel alive sprinting through track workouts at the crack of dawn as your gym bag gathers frost and the icy air penetrates your lungs like nails. The true feeling of being alive :-)

image

Today isn’t really about anything in particular, other than I have completed registration for ALL of my major Ironman races in 2014. Nothing quite like dropping $1400 in one fell swoop. Whoo! I always forget how exciting it is watching the clock as the seconds tick by so that you can be one of the first to register right when the second hand hits the appropriate time. You race against the clock for registration just like you race the clock when it’s the big day…

image

For me, race registration is better than Christmas. Truly. It’s the catalyst that jump starts a flurry of activity, ridiculous training time, nose to the grindstone, inspirational ass-kicking that takes 3, 6, or 12 months in preparation. It’s SUPER EXCITING! I’m so pumped right now, it’s kind of silly. Anything that makes you feel excited and like a small child must surely be a good thing. Frankly, just the adrenaline rush from blitzing through registration is enough to fix even the worst of days.

image

Here’s my “A” race schedule. If you’re in the area, you should definitely show up! I will also have a few sundry sprint and Olympic distance races as well.

• Ironman 70.3 St. George – May 3, 2014
• Ironman 70.3 Vineman – July 13, 2014
• Ironman Lake Tahoe  – September 21, 2014

Yup, that’s 281.2 miles of pure badassery taunting me and calling my name. Challenge accepted!

Have a great weekend!

2 Comments

  1. Since signing up for race day is better than Christmas, guess I’m off the hook for getting you a gift!! Muhahaha. That must be how my customers feel in the first few seconds of our online Cyber Sale! Ohhhh the adrenaline…LOL. Okay, maybe not quite the same as Ironman, but I wouldn’t get in their way of getting a FAB deal! :))

Leave a Reply

