A Blog for the Ages: 3 Years of Thoughts

Well, Happy Friday! February 14th has become one of my favorite days in winter because it’s the anniversary of my blog. I know, I know, I can hear some of you now… oh gees, had we just skipped Feburary 14th, 2011 we wouldn’t have to read all of his ramblings! Well, it happened, get over it!

I’ve been going for three years strong, which seems kind of insane to me. I mean, seriously, three years?! I’ve fielded over 26,000 visitors, almost 900 comments, and nearly 300 posts. Not too shabby for a guy who blabs about business success and triathlon… it must be my ridiculous sense of humor that keeps you people coming back :P

I was really hoping to make it to 300 blogs for this occasion, but I hit 270, and that suits me just fine. It’s been a busy time, and I can admit that I don’t always get to crank out two blogs a week.

In case you missed out on 2012-2013, here’s a link to my second season of blogging. The first 100 blogs can be found here. These are just a summary of my favorites but will give you a good snapshot. And now, for the 2013-2014 blogging season!

Just as a disclaimer, there was nothing remotely easy about putting this list together. 2013 was absolutely RIDICULOUS, and it all began when I got a new job, which quickly escalated into getting a dog, graduating with my MBA, smoking an IRONMAN (140.6) miles, purchasing a new car, and attending about 1300 weddings. That’s not even mentioning the Michigan/Ohio State Football game, travels in New York, Philadelphia, Florida, and Vegas, and a whole host of other awesomeness.

Here are my favorite adventure blogs:

Mountains of Discovery – It’s not every day you get to adventure with your dog into some of the most beautiful scenery in the world

Upside of Irrationality – Feeling irrational? You aren’t alone…

Trusting Relationships – Have you seen the fluffy duck!?

Turbulence and Self-Reflection – HULK SMASH! That is all.

The Brink of Greatness – You’ve arrived! You’re on the precipice! What to do, what to do…

Anticipations, Hopes, and Dreams – 2013 had a big theme. Are you catching on?

What’s Your Legacy? – And please, PLEASE don’t watch Iron Man 3. It’s awful…

Life the Everlasting Breath Mint –  Life never stays stagnant and is constantly refreshing… ahhhhh!


And the top three blogs of the year:

  1. So You Want to Date a Triathlete – 135 hits in a single day. This definitely counts as a successful (even if tongue in cheek) post.20130730-104223.jpg
  2. If You Give a Triathlete a Swimcap (or Cookie) – They will want a glass of milk to go with it.IMG_0432
  3. The Iron Journey – This pretty much sums up the biggest year of my life yet. The rubber has met the road in glorious 140.6 style! Here’s a poem to sum up my 11 hour day of swim, bike, and run.
    20130623-222547.jpg

    Thanks for following me all of these years. 2014 is going to be huge, monumental, and frankly, epic. Better buckle up. Race season begins in two months. Don’t miss it! :-)
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

