A Year Since IRONMAN

Happy Tuesday. To those who know me, you know how seriously I take my hobbies. I’m an avid dog person, a consumer of healthy and tasty foods, casual photographer, and a triathlete. I’m also a futurist and a learner. Precisely one year ago, I was recovering (read: nursing my entire body) from one of my long-time dreams to complete an IRONMAN. I was accompanied by friends and family to the longest race I have ever done in my life, and now suddenly I find myself 365 days later reflecting back on what was an insane year. I had scarcely gotten my MBA (May ’13) before setting off for Coeur d’Alene, Idaho for the 140.6 mile race that would test my sanity and my will to press on.

It has been an exciting year and a trying one. A year packed to the brim with adventures and fun, and an unusual share of the tough times too. I often dwell on the moments that tried and tested me the most, and of course an 11 hour race comes to mind, but it is truly the actions, the schedules, and the commitments that we make the other 364 days of the year that shape us into who we are. Who/what we pencil in is the determinant of the type of person that we are.

image

A year is a fascinating amount of time. A year is a container for 12 unique and individual months, four quarters, 52 weeks, 525,600 minutes, annual holidays, and the ebb and flow of a calendar in sync with the whirl and hum of the corporate world. It contains seasonal activities (racing), and we all have certain expectations of our calendars and the weather. It also is filled with the goals that we establish for ourselves, spontaneous trips, unplanned adventures with friends, joys and sorrows, and all of life’s other great curveballs. We have times when we can build expectations from past experiences, and others when we are flying blind by the seat of our pants. The forks in the road can only be navigated as we see fit, with each presenting its own challenge or surprises.

I look back on the previous year and think about what I was doing last summer, last spring, even towards the winter of 2012 when IRONMAN training truly began. What a large change to go from a grad student to an ultra-endurance adventurer, from an employee at the University of Nevada to working in private industry workers’ comp insurance. Who would’ve predicted? Certainly not I. Relationships with family and friends have changed greatly, and my loyal fuzz and partner in crime has become an integral piece of my life. I can’t help but wonder what this next chapter will hold. IRONMAN Lake Tahoe is rapidly approaching (three months from the 21st), and my international trips await! As difficult as it is, it’s critical to enjoy something about each and every day. As I get older, and just for the record I don’t feel “old,” I really notice how brief a day, a long weekend, or even a year is. I have friends coming up on multi-year anniversaries, popping out children, moving all over the world. Even my parent’s friends are experiencing life changes… Again, change is always in the air.

image

A year gives you plenty of ample opportunities for dwelling on experiences and planning ones for the future. It is often within the quiet solace of my comfy armchair that I plan out the greatest of my adventures and dreams. Take the time to think big, and the big thinking will reward you greatly. Happy hunting.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

