Turbo Charged!

HAPPY FRIDAYYYYY! Circumstances outside of my control have led me to purchasing a new phone. The good news is that I love new technology gadgets. The bad news is that I lost all my contacts, due to user error of incorrectly configuring Google backup, and have since resumed piecing my life together. The worse news is that it all happened around Black Friday, so I was thrown into the lion’s den on a day that I didn’t want to be out, because let’s be honest, who can go four days without having a cellphone? That’s even worse than losing Internet for a day.

I got the Droid Turbo, a gadget reminiscent of my Droid X, which was my first foray into smartphones and the first love of my life. The Turbo has done everything it needed to improve over my HTC One, which was by no means shabby. The screen is bright, brilliant, colorful, and silky smooth. Apps run at a blistering pace. The 21mp camera makes short work of indoor and outdoor photos, and it’s easy to wipe away smudges and fingerprints.

This isn’t a phone review, more so it’s a review of this phone’s turbo charging battery. The battery itself is a beast, with promises of up to 48 hours of ass-kicking battery life. I haven’t gotten to 48 yet, but in the week that I have had the phone it has easily gotten me in the 38-42 hour range – a noble feat considering I charged my HTC at least once every 20 hours.

Droid promised a fast-charging battery that could get you 8 hours of use in 15 minutes of time. I can’t confirm that that is truly the case, but below is an example of how quickly it has charged for me (in the real world).

  • 7:36 am –battery at 3%
  • 7:46 – battery at 12%
  • 7:56 – battery at 22%
  • 8:15 – battery at 36%
  • 8:47 – battery at 69%
  • 9:19 – battery fully charged

That’s pretty freaking impressive! My HTC could easily take upwards of 3.5 hours to fully charge from 0-100%, but my Droid Turbo made quick work of it. The downside is that the turbo charging only works with the charger included with the phone. A standard micro-USB will only charge at the menial rate. In the seven days that I have had the phone, I have charged it from 0-100% twice, and charged it from 40-100% once more. Pretty good stats! I’m looking forward to see what else this monster is capable of.

droidturbo-4

There are plenty of reviews of the Droid Turbo available, with the major caveat that you have to be on Verizon. I’ve been a Verizon customer for nearly 10 years, and it’s been nothing but wonderful, even if there is a slight premium attached.  The major downfall to this phone is that it’s just effing huge, and it was the smaller of the phones available. The screen clocks in at 5.2” and although it isn’t heavy or cumbersome, it still takes up precious pocket real estate.

Also, for those of you who are very technically inclined, Android 5.0 is expected to drop on the Droid Turbo, as well as a few other phones, in the coming weeks/month. Just another great reason to get a killer phone during the smoking end-of-the-year deals. The weekend is upon us!

Leave a Reply

