Commence Primary Ignition

Hello from beautiful Reno, Nevada! We’ve had rainstorms, 75 degree weather, a cold snap, and now we’re gunnin’ for sun this weekend. Just another spring month in the Silver State.

It’s the most wonderful time of the year, and no, I’m not talking about Christmas, although since you asked, it’s only 253 shopping days until the big shebang. You’re welcome.

No, my friends, get out the big guns because it’s racing season, and we’re starting it off with a bang tomorrow at Granite Beach. I’ve done this race at least six times, with the past two years landing some pretty solid podium finishes (4th and 2nd respectively), and while I can only hope that tomorrow goes well, I’ve got two of my favorite rivals coming out to give it a go. I imagine I’ll be chasing them all the way to the finish line… darn runners.

Imperial_Navy_Gunner
Boom. Racing season!

Healthy competition is one of my favorite parts of the sport. You get to go out, crush the course, and at the end of the day you’re the only one who cares how you do. But if there’s a little shoulder rubbing along the way, then all the better for it. I’m also in the old man division now. That should be interesting… I’m dreading them engraving the “30” into my legs with the cold, unforgiving Sharpie, but then I just have to realize that I just have another year of racing experience behind me. Male 30-34 just doesn’t quite have a cool ring to it, hah.

It sounds so horribly stereotypical and awfully stuffy, but truly, the only result of a good race day is if you had fun. There is no other point. Yes, it would be great if the day always went perfectly and nothing bad happened and you were on your “A game,” but it just isn’t practical. Leave that to the pros… I know I have had a successful race if these two things have happened:

  1. I had a freaking blast
  2. I left everything out on the course
  3. I gave my best effort (not necessarily fastest because you can’t always control)
  4. I overcame the mini-obstacles that the day threw at me
  5. I had a freaking blast!!!!

Yea yea, so I shove triathlon down my reader’s throats constantly, but it’s a big part of my life. That doesn’t mean that the same principles don’t apply to your other activities. A very wise man once told me that “you don’t have to like it; you just have to do well.” And yes, that’s true when it comes to geometry or your research paper on carnivorous plants, but once you find the “real you” in life, you should always be doing something you enjoy. It may not be a constant soirée of balloons and ponies and a rainbow fun show, but it should be something that piques your interest, something that you excel at, and certainly something that you don’t see as tedious, chore-like, or a drag.

Yes, when I’m out hauling my ass around Tahoe for six hours at a time, it can get a little bleak emotionally and mentally, but the overarching point of enjoying a complex and fascinating beauty of nature trumps all.  Sure, it hurts physically, but at the end of the day, it’s an activity that you can enjoy with nature lovers, and that is its own reward.

DS_Gunner
This will be my new racing helmet!

Looks like Christmas is coming early… see you out on the course! Did anyone catch the Star Wars quote??

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

