The 2016 Season Data in Review

Good morning, RENO!

The first month of 2017 is drawing to a close, and with it, the soon arriving 2017 race season! February 1st is kickoff day for the year, which means tomorrow is go time. I don’t really know why my season habits formed around this plan, but entering my 11th season seems like a poor time to change that habit. My tri racing typically ends no later than September, with a few running races scattered throughout October and November, leaving December and January for some base building, relaxing, weights, yoga, and basic planning and mental refreshment. But every year, on (typically) a very cold February morning, I shift into game-time gear and begin the seven, eight, or nine month grind to the last A race on my calendar.

I’ve always been a data guy and love poring over the facts and figures from my various swim, bike, run, waddle, lift, hike, and exploration adventures. I religiously track everything in a homemade spreadsheet (my source of truth), but also rely on Garmin Connect and very recently, Strava. There are pros and cons for any software tool you choose, but I won’t go into that here. Each offers something a little different, but my trusty spreadsheet is where it’s at!

I pulled together a summary of my training and racing and gallivanting, just to see what was what… kind of surprised by the outcome! And as anyone will tell you, it’s about quality not quantity, and yes I shouldn’t measure the success of the season by miles. Disclaimer noted.

Swim – 205.13 miles / 123.91 hours

Bike – 2895.15 miles / 183.46 hours

Run – 550.13 miles / 81.16 hours

Not really a surprise that there was such a skew in my run training, and that makes sense seeing as how I tanked on the last 13.1 of the marathon in Boulder. It was just hard to find time, energy, and motivation to get out there and hammer the run training (ugh – what a crappy excuse!). However, much to my surprise, my training was on par or higher than the time/mileage I had done in 2014 (the year I had previously considered myself in the best race shape). That gives me hope for this year – train smarter, not harder, and the rest will take care of itself.

I clearly have no problem getting out on the bike and doing my time. This year, I’m going to be playing with my new Christmas present (a Kurt Kinetic InRide power meter, which provides watts, distance, and speed when indoors) and may utilize some other computer software to make my training time more productive, all with the purpose of leaving me with a little extra in the tank to hammer those runs. [If anyone has a recommendation on TrainerRoad vs. Zwift, let me know!]

Highlights from the season:

  • Finishing the World’s Toughest Half for the second time, even though it was a miserable day…
  • Awesome trip to Boulder, CO for time with the wife and friends, Rocky Mountain National Park, and IRONMAN Boulder.
  • Getting a fantastic mountain bike for my birthday and entering that (completely different) world!
  • Leveraging my running weaknesses and fear, and tackling it head on towards the end of 2016 which setup a great start to 2017.

My goal for February: run four hours a week, every single week, for the entire month. Oh, and I still need to figure out my race schedule for the year! >:O Fortunately, I’ve already run 60 miles this year – phew! The gauntlet has been set in stone.

What kind of plans do you have for 2017?

If you like this post, please share and subscribe. I can be found on Instagram, YouTube, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, and the planet Earth.

Picture credit 1.

 

Leave a Reply

